Just In

Thank You Wes Craven, for Memorable Scary Movie Nights

I was 10 years old. I went to a birthday sleepover for two of my friends. Before my mom dropped me off, I remember she specifically told me not to watch a certain scary movie that came out that year. “Dani, don’t watch Scream because you know you’re going to be scared.” I knew she was right, but I thought nothing of it.

screamNighttime came and we all changed into our pajamas and climbed into our themed sleeping bags. When the girls’ mom headed to bed, one of the girls said “let’s watch a scary movie.” My naive self thought it would be a movie they already owned, but no. She pulled out the Blockbuster, yes Blockbuster, rental of Scream. Immediately, I said “no, no my mom says I can’t watch it, I’ll get scared.” At that age, you don’t want to punk out and have your friends think you’re a wuss, so I gave in and huddled in my sleeping bag.

That was nearly 20 years ago, but I can remember the girls’ mom coming downstairs and quickly turning the movie off after she heard tons of screaming! The short time surely had an impact on me…I had nightmares for weeks! I confessed and told my mom that we watched Scream. I honestly didn’t watch Scream again until college. Of course now, it’s not even a hint of scary. I realize that my testimony shows the talent of Wes Craven and how he revolutionized horror films for over 40 years.

We sadly lost the horror mastermind to brain cancer on Sunday, August 30. He was 76 years old. His directing debut was in 1972 with The Last House on the Left. Then in 1977, he frightened audiences with The Hills Have Eyes. He co-wrote the 2007 remake, The Hills Have Eyes 2, with his son Jonathan Craven. In 1984, Craven became a house-hold name with A Nightmare on Elm Street. He introduced Freddy Krueger, the pop culture figure that haunts you in your dreams…donning that signature fedora and metal-fingered glove. Krueger is by far one of my favorite horror characters, but will always creep me out! At the time of his death, USA Today reports Craven was revamping the 1991 version of his film, The People Under the Stairs, for the SyFy channel.

elm streetWith Halloween coming up, it’s a perfect time to gather all his classics for a “Wes Craven Horror Night!” Let me help you get started if you’re missing any:

The Last House on the Left (1972)

The Hills Have Eyes (1977)

The Hills Have Eyes 2 (1984)
A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
A Nightmare on Elm Street: Freddy’s Revenge (1985)
The People Under the Stairs (1991)
Paris, Je t’aime (2006) (Père-Lachaise segment)
Scream (1996)
Scream 2 (1997)
Red Eye (2005)

#RIP Mr. Wes Craven.

Leave a Reply

